Texans Yates wins NFL Rookie of the Week honors

Voters on NFL.com have made their choice. Quarterback T.J. Yates of the Houston Texans is the Pepsi NFL Rookie of the Week for games played on Dec. 8-12, the NFL announced Friday.


After the regular season, five players will be nominated for Pepsi NFL Rookie of the Year honors. Fans can vote for the winner on NFL.com/rookies throughout the month of January. The winner will be announced at a press conference at Super Bowl XLVI in Indianapolis.


Doug Baldwin, Seattle Seahawks

Baldwin -- who went undrafted in April -- blocked a punt that resulted in a touchdown, and then scored a touchdown of his own on a 29-yard reception. Baldwin finished the game with seven receptions for 93 yards.

Julio Jones, Atlanta Falcons

Jones caught three passes for 104 yards and two scores in the Falcons' 31-23 victory over the Carolina Panthers. His second touchdown reception with 4:17 left in the fourth quarter proved to be the game-winner.

Jake Locker, Tennessee Titans

Locker converted 13 of 29 pass attempts for 282 yards and a score in under three quarters of play in the Titans' 22-17 loss to the New Orleans Saints. Locker also added 36 yards and a touchdown on six rushing attempts.

T.J. Yates, Houston Texans

Yates completed 26 of 44 passes for 300 yards, two touchdowns and an interception in the Texans' 20-19 win over the Cincinnati Bengals. Yates also added five carries for 36 rushing yards, and threw for the game-winning touchdown with just two seconds remaining in the game.

Titus Young, Detroit Lions

Young hauled in four passes for 87 yards and a touchdown in the Lions' 34-28 win over the Minnesota Vikings.


< >
  • 1
    KareemHunt RB - CHIEFS
  • 2
    TyusBowser LB - RAVENS
  • 3
    JakeElliott K - EAGLES
  • 4
    AlvinKamara RB - SAINTS
  • 5
    AaronJones RB - PACKERS
  • 6
    MarshonLattimore CB - SAINTS
  • 7
    AaronJones RB - PACKERS
  • 8
    MarshonLattimore CB - SAINTS
  • 9
    AlvinKamara RB - SAINTS
  • 10
    AlvinKamara RB - SAINTS
  • 11
    AlvinKamara RB - SAINTS
  • 12
    AlvinKamara RB - SAINTS
  • 13
    AlvinKamara RB - SAINTS
  • 14
    JamaalWilliams RB - PACKERS
  • 15
    MarshonLattimore CB - SAINTS
  • 16
    MarshonLattimore CB - SAINTS
  • 17
    AlvinKamara RB - SAINTS