Skip to main content

Around the League

Presented By

Jimmy Graham flagged twice for goal-post dunks

The NFL's new rule banning crossbar dunking celebrations isn't going to stop Jimmy Graham from doing his thing. 

The New Orleans Saints star scoredtwice in Friday's 31-24 win over the Titans, and both times he celebrated by -- you guessed it -- slamming the pigskin through the uprights. The tight end was hit with 15-yard penalties for taunting on both occasions. 

When asked after the game if he was upset at Graham's antics, Saints coach Sean Payton didn't hide his feelings.

"Well, would that make sense? Would you be upset?" Payton said, per "Yeah, I was. Particularly."

It's being referred to as the Jimmy Graham Rule after he caused a 20-minute interruption in a contest versus the Falcons last year after one such dunk. The celebration knocked the goal posts off kilter, causing a lengthy delay of game. 

"I understand Jimmy's frustration with that rule change," Saints teammate Zach Strief said after the game, per The Associated Press. "I don't think Jimmy is a selfish player. ... It's selfish in a real game. I don't think Jimmy is like that. I think that was his one opportunity to make it his statement on it."

Graham might be throwing caution to the wind in the preseason, but we expect him to tone it down when the games really count. 

The latest "Around the League Podcast" talks quarterback battles and debates the gang's preseason power rankings.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content