Skip to main content

Around the League

Presented By

Deacon Jones Award will honor future NFL sack leaders

NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell recently called the late Deacon Jones an "icon among icons" as a charismatic keeper of the NFL flame.

Now Goodell has come up with a permanent way to honor Jones, who is credited with coining the term quarterback "sack."

A person informed of the league's plans tells's Ian Rapoport that the NFL's leader in sacks will receive the Deacon Jones Award beginning in 2013. The award will be among those featured in the nationally televised "NFL Honors" award show the night before the Super Bowl.

The new award recognizing the NFL's top pass rusher was announced at Deacon Jones' memorial service in Los Angeles on Saturday.

It's a fitting tribute to a legend once described as the inspirational leader of all Hall of Famers.

According to NFL historian John Turney, Jones recorded at least 20 sacks in four separate seasons with the Los Angeles Rams. Buffalo Bills legend Bruce Smith might be the NFL's all-time sack leader, but Jones will always be the godfather of edge rushers.

Follow Chris Wesseling on Twitter @ChrisWesseling.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content