Skip to main content

NFL Network captures two Sports Emmy awards

NFL Media -- comprised of NFL Network, NFL Films, NFL RedZone, and NFL Mobile -- won six awards at Tuesday's 34th Annual Sports Emmy Awards in New York.

NFL Network won in the Outstanding Short Feature category for "NFL GameDay Morning: Immaculate Remembrance," as well as in the Outstanding Sports Promotional Announcement -- Episodic category for "A Football Life: Life Story," which it shared with NFL Films. With the two Emmy Awards, NFL Network increased its total to 12 in its nine-year history.

NFL Films -- the most-honored filmmaker in sports -- won five Emmy Awards, which tied for the most awards NFL Films has received in a single year (2010-11) and increased its total to 112 Emmy Awards. Also, NFL Films was the only entity to win awards for multiple networks (HBO, NFL Network and Showtime).

Top 100 Players of 2013


Make sure you vote for the Top 100 players of 2013. Voting ends May 31. Get your vote in. More ...

The documentary "Namath," produced along with HBO, earned two Emmys in the Outstanding Documentary and Outstanding Music Composition/Direction/Lyrics categories. Additionally, "Hard Knocks: Training Camp with the Miami Dolphin" won in the category of Outstanding Post Produced Audio/Sound, and "Inside the NFL" won Outstanding Studio Show -- Weekly.

This year, NFL Media received a record 24 Sports Emmy Award nominations, surpassing the previous high of 18 set in 2010.

Full credits are below:

"Immaculate Remembrance," the story of how the football from the "Immaculate Reception" became more than just a memento for a Pittsburgh family, was named Outstanding Short Feature.

Recognized were executive producers Steve Bornstein, Mark Quenzel and Eric Weinberger; coordinating producers Tom Brady and Brad Lockhart; senior producers Aaron Cohen and Kevin Shaw; producer Jim Fabio and associate producers Philip Guidry, Joby Joy, Zach Posner and Nick Vartanian.

The network and NFL Films shared an award for Outstanding Sports Promotional Announcement -- Episodic, for "A Football Life: Life Story."

Recognized were executive producers Steve Bornstein, Howard Katz, Mark Quenzel, Steve Sabol and Eric Weinberger; senior coordinating producers Patrick Kelleher and Ross Ketover; supervising producers Chris Barlow and Keith Cossro; and producers Bob Angelo, Paul Camarata, Dave Douglas, Peter Frank, Greg Frith, Ryan Kelly, Nick Mascolo, Paul Monusky, Digger O'Brien, Erik Powers, Chip Swain, Bennett Viseltear, James Weiner, John Weiss and Neil Zender.

NFL Films in conjuction with HBO won the award for Outstanding Sports Documentary for "Namath." 

Recognized were executive producers Rick Bernstein, Howard Katz and Steve Sabol; senior coordinating producers Patrick Kelleher and Ross Ketover; producers Keith Cossrow and Joseph M. Lavine; creative director Bill McCullough; segment producer Ryan Kelly; associate producers Zachary Heinzerling, Andrew Morreale, Brian Murphy, Tiffany Oshinsky, Ouisie Shapiro and David Stiles; and operations producers Holly Peterman and Kelly Viseltear.

"Namath" also won the award for Outstanding Music Composition/Direction/Lyrics. Recognized were composer David Robidoux and arrangers Scott Anderson, Steve Moseley and Paul Taylor.

NFL Films, along with CBS and Showtime, received the Outstanding Studio Show -- Weekly award for "Inside the NFL."

Recognized were executive producers Harold Bryant, Stephen Espinoza, Howard Katz, Sean McManus and Steve Sabol; senior coordinating producers Patrick Kelleher and Ross Ketover; coordinating producers Stephen Karasik, Peter Radovich, Jr.; senior producers Adam Ryan and Bob Ryan; videotape producers Gareth Hughes and Peter Shakkour; segment producers Bob Angelo, Charlie Askew, Paul Camarata, Jeff Cameron, Keith Cossrow, Dave Douglas, Garrett Fittizzi, Julia Harmon, Gareth Hughes, Elizabeth Jerry, Ryan Kelly, Jeff Larsen, Steve Lucatuorto, Nick Mascolo, Paul Monusky, Digger O'Brien, David Plaut, Erik Powers, Zeus Quijano, Gerry Reimel, Margaret Ruffing-Morris, Jeremy Saidel, Todd Schmidt, Steve Seidman, Angela Torma, Bennett Viseltear, Chris Weaver, James Weiner and John Weiss; director Lisa Greenberg; associate producers Dave Brodsky, Leah Harper, Vin Licata, Jawn Morales, Ben Nygaard, Tiffany Rutkin, Peter Schrager and Mark Young.

"Hard Knocks: Training Camp with the Miami Dolphins," produced in association with HBO, won the Outstanding Post Produced Audio/Sound Award.     

Recognized were audio engineers Vince Caputo, Scott Carter, Paul Flinton, Steve Guercio, Frank Hamilton, Christian Loaiza, Jerry Mahler, Rich Markowitz, Andrew Miller, Steve Moseley, Willie O'Bryan, Geoff Pawlikowski, Paul Pizzica and Mark Ricci

The awards were given by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences at Frederick P. Rose Hall, Home of Jazz at Lincoln Center.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content