Skip to main content

Coaches snub Johnny Manziel on All-SEC first team

The first freshman ever to win the Heisman Trophy is the preseason second-team quarterback in his own league as a sophomore, according to a vote of Southeastern Conference coaches.

The Southeastern Conference Coaches' All-SEC team can be viewed in full here. Coaches selected Georgia's Aaron Murray as the first-team quarterback, with Manziel second team and Alabama's AJ McCarron, a starter for two national championship teams, as the third-team pick.

Murray and Manziel had similar passing totals last season, with Murray throwing for 3,893 yards and Manziel for 3,706. Manziel, however, led the entire conference in rushing with 1,407 net yards, despite the fact that NCAA statistics policy counts sacks as negative rushing yardage (unlike the NFL). Throw in 21 rushing touchdowns for Manziel, and reasonable minds might wonder if a few SEC coaches have tired somewhat of Johnny Football and the hype machine that follows him.

By policy, coaches are not permitted to vote for their own players.

Although McCarron was relegated to third-team status, the Crimson Tide was better represented than any other school, with 16 selections, including five first-teamers. Wide receiver Amari Cooper, running back T.J. Yeldon, tackle C.J. Kouandjio, safety Ha Ha Clinton-Dix and linebacker C.J. Mosley were on the first team from Alabama.

LSU and Georgia each had eight players chosen, including three Bulldogs on the first-team offense (Murray, Todd Gurley, Arthur Lynch) and two Tigers on the first-team defense (Anthony Johnson, Craig Loston).

Follow Chase Goodbread on Twitter @ChaseGoodbread.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content