Skip to main content

2014 Maxwell Award watch list


The long wait is nearly over as football fans are less than two months away from the start of the 2014 college football season. With the season approaching, the presenters of various college football awards have started releasing their "watch lists" for the season.

The organizers of the Maxwell (top player) award released a list of 76 players. Among the players on the Maxwell list: Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston (the 2013 Heisman winner -- but not the Maxwell winner, who was former Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron), Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota, Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller, Georgia running back Todd Gurley and Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon. Also on the list: North Carolina State quarterback Jacoby Brissett and Alabama quarterback Jacob Coker, neither of whom has taken a snap for his team. Brissett sat out last season after transferring from Florida, while Coker arrived in Tuscaloosa after transferring from Florida State following the spring semester.

Maxwell Award watch list

RB Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska
WR Nelson Agholor, USC
RB Jay Ajayi, Boise State
RB Javorius Allen, USC
WR Dres Anderson, Utah
QB Anthony Boone, Duke
WR Tyler Boyd, Pittsburgh
QB Jacoby Brissett, N.C. State
RB Malcolm Brown, Texas
QB Shane Carden, East Carolina
QB Rakeem Cato, Marshall
WR Sammie Coates Auburn
QB Jacob Coker, Alabama
WR Stacy Coley, Miami (Fla.)
RB Alex Collins, Arkansas
RB James Conner, Pittsburgh
QB Connor Cook, Michigan State
WR Amari Cooper, Alabama
WR Jamison Crowder, Duke
RB Mike Davis, South Carolina
WR DeVante Davis, UNLV
WR Stefon Diggs, Maryland
QB Jeff Driskel, Florida
QB Cody Fajardo, Nevada
RB D.J. Foster, Arizona State
WR Devin Funchess, Michigan
QB Devin Gardner, Michigan
QB Jared Goff, California
QB Everett Golson, Notre Dame
WR Antwan Goodley, Baylor
RB Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin
RB Johnathan Gray, Texas
WR Deontay Greenberry, Houston
WR Rashad Greene, Florida State
RB Todd Gurley, Georgia
QB Christian Hackenberg, Penn State
WR Justin Hardy, East Carolina
QB Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion
RB Derrick Henry, Alabama
WR Austin Hill, Arizona
QB Taysom Hill, BYU
QB Kevin Hogan, Stanford
QB Brett Hundley, UCLA
QB Matt Johnson, Bowling Green
RB Duke Johnson, Miami (Fla.)
QB Chuckie Keeton, Utah State
QB Taylor Kelly, Arizona State
QB Cody Kessler, USC
QB Trevor Knight, Oklahoma
RB Jeremy Langford, Michigan State
RB Shock Linwood, Baylor
WR Tyler Lockett, Kansas State
QB Sean Mannion, Oregon State
RB Raymond Maples, Army
QB Marcus Mariota, Oregon
RB Venric Mark, Northwestern
RB Byron Marshall, Oregon
QB Nick Marshall, Auburn
QB Braxton Miller, Ohio State
WR Ty Montgomery, Stanford
QB John O'Korn, Houston
WR DeVante Parker, Louisville
QB Bryce Petty, Baylor
QB Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
QB Keenan Reynolds, Navy
WR Jaelen Strong, Arizona State
RB Thomas Tyner, Oregon
QB P.J. Walker, Temple
QB Bo Wallace, Ole Miss
QB Jake Waters, Kansas State
QB Davis Webb, Texas Tech
RB Jonathan Williams, Arkansas
RB Karlos Williams, Florida State
RB Jamaal Williams, BYU
QB Jameis Winston Florida State
RB T.J. Yeldon, Alabama

Follow College Football 24/7 on Twitter _@NFLCFB_.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content