Teddy Bridgewater wins Pepsi Rookie of the Year award

Teddy Bridgewater has been named the 2014 Pepsi NFL Rookie Of The Year, as voted by the fans, Pepsi and the NFL announced Friday night.

The Vikings quarterback was recognized during Pepsi Super Bowl XLIX festivities in Arizona, as well as online at nfl.com/rookies.

Bridgewater passed for 2,919 yards and 14 touchdowns in 13 games after being selected 32nd in the 2014 NFL Draft. The Vikings were 6-6 in his 12 starts, with victories over the Falcons, Panthers and Bears among others.

The former Louisville product was one of five finalists up to receive the honor. The other finalists were Giants wide receiver Odell Beckham Jr., Buccaneers wide receiver Mike Evans, Bengals running back Jeremy Hill and Bills wide receiver Sammy Watkins.

The five finalists were selected for their outstanding performances throughout the season. Each week, five nominees were chosen for the Pepsi NFL Rookie of the Week and fans voted for the winner on NFL.com. Those results were used to help determine the finalists.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content