One problem: The referees ruled Cruz down by non-contact (you read that right). Sound weird? Well, the NFL rule book allows officials the leeway to make that call.
The language, per the rule book: "Official shall declare ball dead ... when runner declares himself down by falling to ground or kneeling & making no effort to advance."
That's where it gets tricky. Did Cruz "declare himself down," even though he said he believed he was touched, or did he just stumble and fall? It's a judgment call that Mike Pereira, the former NFL vice president of officiating who now works as a Fox analyst, believed the refs got wrong.
"I don't know that he gave himself up," Pereira said. "When you talk about giving yourself, you are actually talking about deliberately going to the ground. I think he stumbles and then lets the ball go. I think you have to play that."
The Associated Press contributed to this report.