Skip to main content

Ohio State Mount Rushmore: Top all-time NFL players from OSU

CFB 24/7 is unveiling its choices for the Mount Rushmores -- top 4 all-time NFL players -- from 10 top college football programs. The 10 were chosen based on the total number of NFL players produced by the school. The series continues with the Ohio State Buckeyes.

Carved into Ohio State's Mount Rushmore:
» Orlando Pace
» Paul Warfield
» Cris Carter
» Jim Parker

Why those four? Pace's induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame this summer will push Ohio State's total of enshrinees to 10. Ohio State is one of three schools with a double-digit Hall of Famer total. Pace -- the Rams' top choice in the 1997 NFL Draft -- is one of three former Buckeyes to be No. 1 overall draft picks (Dan Wilkinson in 1994 and Tom Cousineau in 1979 are the others). Pace was a seven-time Pro Bowl selection, a member of the NFL's 2000s all-decade team and a vital part of the Rams' Super Bowl XXXIV-winning team. ... Warfield was a part of the last Cleveland Browns team to win an NFL championship (in 1964), and was then a member of the Miami Dolphins when the team won back-to-back Super Bowls, including the perfect 17-0 1972 season. He was an eight-time Pro Bowl pick and a member of the NFL's 1970s all-decade team. ... Carter -- an eight-time Pro Bowl selection -- retired second on the NFL's all-time career receptions and touchdowns list behind Jerry Rice (he's currently fourth on both lists). ... Considered one of the greatest offensive linemen in the game's history, Parker was an eight-time Pro Bowler, and earned recognition on the NFL's 1950s all-decade team and 75th anniversary all-time team.

Total number of NFL players from school: 429

Total first-round draft picks from school: 76

Total picks from school in 2016 NFL Draft: 12 (Joey Bosa, Round 1; Ezekiel Elliott, Round 1; Eli Apple, Round 1; Taylor Decker, Round 1; Darron Lee, Round 1; Michael Thomas, Round 2; Vonn Bell, Round 2; Adolphus Washington, Round 3; Braxton Miller, Round 3; Nick Vannett, Round 3; Joshua Perry, Round 4; Cardale Jones, Round 4)

Members of Pro Football Hall of Fame: 10 (Carter, Sid Gillman, Groza, Dante Lavelli, LeBeau, Pace, Parker, Ed Sabol, Warfield, Willis). Note: Gillman entered the Hall of Fame as a coach; Sabol as a contributor for his work at NFL Films.

Follow College Football 24/7 on Twitter _@NFLCFB_.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content