Skip to main content

NFLN to air new seasons of 'A Football Life', 'The Timeline'

For the 2017 season, NFL Network announces subjects for new episodes of two NFL Films-produced, Emmy-nominated programs A Football Life and The Timeline.

The seventh season of the highly-acclaimed series A Football Life premieres Friday, September 15 at 9 p.m. ET with a profile of Pro Football Hall of Fame quarterback Dan Marino.

The third season of The Timeline premieres following the Thursday Night Football game between the Los Angeles Rams-San Francisco 49ers on NFL Network on Thursday, September 21 with The Greatest Show on Turf, offering an in-depth look at the Rams' record-breaking offense from 1999-2001.

Each episode of A Football Life and The Timeline -- as well as all NFL Network programming -- is streamed live on the NFL Mobile from Verizon app ( as well as other digital platforms through Watch NFL Network on tablet (NFL Mobile, Watch NFL Network and NFL on Windows 10 apps), PC (, Xbox One and Xbox 360 (NFL on Xbox app) and other connected TV devices (NFL app on Apple TV and Playstation 4, Android TV and Amazon Fire TV).

A Football Life

The new season of A Football Life premieres on Friday, September 15 at 9 p.m. ET on NFL Network and will continue to air on Fridays at 9 p.m. ET throughout the 2017 NFL season. Produced by NFL Films, A Football Life examines the iconic individuals and subjects that have had an undeniable and profound impact on the history of the National Football League, offering an inside look at their untold stories.

The finale of the 13-episode season of A Football Life will mark the 100th episode of the Emmy-nominated series produced by NFL Films.

Among the subjects profiled this season on A Football Life in addition to Dan Marino are:

»NFL all-time leading rusher and Pro Football Hall of Famer Emmitt Smith
»Pro Football Hall of Fame head coach John Madden
»5-time Pro Bowl wide receiver Wes Welker
»Late Carolina Panthers and New Orleans SaintsPro Bowl linebacker Sam Mills
»Pro Football Hall of Fame quarterback Jim Kelly
»10-time Pro Bowl wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald
»4-time Pro Bowl running back Eddie George
»Super Bowl Champion head coach Joe Gibbs
»Pro Football Hall of Fame owner and general manager Jerry Jones
»Pro Football Hall of Fame cornerback Aeneas Williams
»Pro Football Hall of Fame defensive tackle John Randle
»Pro Football Hall of Fame wide receiver duo Lynn Swann & John Stallworth

Emmy-nominated actor Josh Charles returns as narrator of the series.

To view the trailer for this season of A Football Life, watch here.

Below is a broadcast schedule for the September and October episodes of A Football Life:

»September 16: Dan Marino
»September 22: Emmitt Smith
»September 29: John Madden
»October 6: Wes Welker
»October 13: Sam Mills

The Timeline

The five-episode season of the ground-breaking series The Timeline premieres on Thursday, September 21 following the Los Angeles Rams-San Francisco 49ers Thursday Night Football game on NFL Network. The series will air throughout the 2017 season following four Thursday Night Football broadcasts on NFL Network with hour-long episodes chronicling seminal moments that formed the NFL's storied past, shape the present and, in some cases, set the stage for the future.

During Super Bowl week, the fifth and final episode of the season will air taking a deeper look into wide receiver David Tyree's helmet catch which helped solidify the New York Giants' victory over the New England Patriots in Super Bowl XLII.

Among the subjects featured this season are on The Timeline:

»The Greatest Show on Turf (Thursday, September 21): An in-depth look at the St. Louis Rams' record-breaking offense that pushed the team to two Super Bowl appearances and one Super Bowl victory from 1999-2001. The premiere episode includes interviews with Pro Football Hall of Famers Kurt Warner and Marshall Faulk

»The Tuck Rule (Thursday, October 5): The story behind the controversial call that secured a playoff victory for the Patriots in a season that ended with a New England Super Bowl win. Former Oakland Raiders head coach Jon Gruden and entertainer Ice Cube are featured in the episode

»The '91 Falcons (Thursday, December 7): Chronicles the exciting season of the 1991 Atlanta Falcons which head coach Jerry Glanville called "the most fun team ever in pro football." Pro Football Hall of Famers Deion Sanders and Brett Favre, and hip-hop artist T.I. are interviewed

»The Ice Bowl (December; Exact Date TBD): Explores the most memorable cold weather playoff game in sports history that featured the face-off of two legendary teams: the Dallas Cowboys, led by Tom Landry, and the Green Bay Packers, led by Vince Lombardi

»The Helmet Catch (Super Bowl Week; Exact Date TBD): The story of the moment that New York Giants receiver David Tyree secured a seemingly uncatchable pass that thwarted the New England Patriots' chance at a perfect season that was set to end in a Super Bowl victory. Tyree and Giants quarterback Eli Manning appear in the episode to discuss how this play changed their careers

To view the trailer for this season of The Timeline, click here

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content