NFL forms Chairmen's Committee of team owners

The NFL is formally organizing a group of team owners who have worked with Commissioner Roger Goodell on a number of key issues in recent years.

In a memo sent to all 32 teams and obtained by NFL Media Insider Ian Rapoport, the group of owners will make up the new "Chairmen's Committee." The committee will initially consist of the league chairmen of Finance, International, Management Council Executive, Media and Stadium committees. The owners on the committee are Clark Hunt (Chiefs), Robert Kraft (Patriots), Bob McNair (Texans), John Mara (Giants) and Art Rooney II (Steelers).

The group will help spearhead initiatives aimed at defining and identifying league priorities and ensuring that issues are properly considered and coordinated among the standing committee, according to the memo. The committee will not take any votes on the issues it examines.

In the same memo, Goodell outlined personnel changes made to the NFL Competition Committee.

The committee has three new members: Arizona Cardinals coach Bruce Arians, Tom Coughlin, NFL Senior Advisor to Football Operations, and John Elway, Denver Broncos executive vice president of football operations and general manager.

The NFL Competition Committee includes Rich McKay (Chairman), Bruce Arians, Tom Coughlin, John Elway, Stephen Jones, Marvin Lewis. John Mara, Mark Murphy, Ozzie Newsome, Rick Smith and Mike Tomlin.

Los Angeles Rams coach Jeff Fisher left the committee in the spring to focus his attention to the franchise's transition to Southern California, Rapoport reported.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Purchase single game tickets for the 2022 season