It was announced Monday that Louis suffered a season-ending knee injury on the play. Allen said Sunday he thought it was a "legal hit," but Bears coach Lovie Smith doesn't seem to agree.
"I am sure the league will look at it and they'll give an opinion about it."
Mike Pereria, the former vice president of officiating and current rules analyst at FOX Sports, explained his viewpoint of the play during the telecast.
"When Allen is going back toward his own goal line or end line, or parallel down the line, then you can't lead with your shoulder, forearm or head into the head or neck area of an opponent," Pereria said. "To me that's an illegal blindside block."
Whether Allen's intentions were malicious or not, he shouldn't be surprised if a FedEx envelope is sitting in front of his locker in the near future.