Jameis Winston wins Pepsi Rookie of the Year award

Jameis Winston has been named the 2015 Pepsi NFL Rookie of the Year, as voted by the fans, Pepsi and the NFL announced Friday night.

The Buccaneers quarterback was recognized during Pepsi Super Bowl 50 festivities in San Francisco, as well as online at nfl.com/rookies.

Winston passed for 4,042 yards and 22 touchdowns -- both franchise records by a rookie -- in 16 games after being selected with the top overall pick in the 2015 NFL Draft. In Week 11 against the Eagles, Winston threw five touchdowns with no interceptions, joining Ray Buivid (Dec. 5, 1937) as the only rookie QB in NFL history to accomplish that feat.

The Florida State product was one of five finalists up to receive the honor. The other finalists were Raiders wide receiver Amari Cooper, Rams running back Todd Gurley, Seahawks wideout/return man Tyler Lockett and Chiefs cornerback Marcus Peters.

The five finalists were selected for their outstanding performances throughout the season. Each week, five nominees were chosen for the Pepsi NFL Rookie of the Week and fans voted for the winner on NFL.com. Those results were used to help determine the finalists.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content