Around the League

Presented By

Denver Broncos' Peyton Manning again makes history

Ready for your random stat of the day?

Only four teams in NFL history have won 10 consecutive games by seven or more points, the Denver Post reported. Peyton Manning has been the quarterback for two of those teams.

The list:
2005 Indianapolis Colts (13 consecutive games)
1942 Chicago Bears (11)
1997 San Francisco 49ers (10)
2012 Denver Broncos (10)

Manning and the Colts went 14-2, but lost to the Steelers in the divisional round. The Bears were a perfect 11-0 during the regular season, but were upset by Sammy Baugh and the Redskins in the NFL Championship game. The 49ers went 13-3 and lost to Packers in the NFC championship.

Manning is certainly hoping for a better result than the last time he was in this situation. The Broncos have aspirations to take home the Vince Lombardi Trophy, but there shouldn't be too many complaints about conference championship appearance or a trip to the Super Bowl.

History has been pretty good to two of those previous three teams. Manning certainly hopes to improve on what happened in 2005.

Follow Kareem Copeland on Twitter @kareemcopeland.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content