Skip to main content

Bracketology: The greatest game of all time

It's that time of year again. March Madness is upon us and has its own tournament bracket.

For the fourth annual time provides you the fans with Bracketology. Starting Monday, March 16, fans will decide the greatest game of all time by voting at

The field of 32 games was decided by a panel of NFL Media analysts and is divided into four brackets.'s Bracketology will have five rounds of voting in a typical bracket style format, with the game with the most votes within its matchup at the end of each round advancing to the next round.

Provided below is this year's Bracketology schedule:

  • Launch -- Monday, March 16
  • Round of 16 -- Friday, March 20
  • Quarterfinals -- Tuesday, March 24
  • Semifinals -- Friday, March 27
  • Finals -- Wednesday, April 1
  • Winner Unveiled -- Sunday, April 5

Starting Monday at 1:00 p.m. ET, and airing weekdays through Tuesday, March 31, NFL Network will air 90-miniute NFL's Greatest Games editions of select games from the bracket. On Thursday, April 2 and Friday, April 3 at 1:00 p.m. ET, NFL Network will air the full game broadcasts of the two games featured in the Finals, with the winning game revealed Sunday, April 5. The full game broadcast of the game determined by fans to be the greatest NFL game of all time will air Sunday, April 5 at 8:00 p.m. ET.

Fans will also be able to access all 32 games featured on the original list on NFL Now, and every game will be available in full on

Last year,'s Bracketology voted on the greatest quarterback of all time (Johnny Unitas). In 2013, fans voted to determine the greatest team of all time (1976 Oakland Raiders) and in 2012 voted on the greatest play of all time (DeSean Jackson's walk-off punt return for a touchdown against the New York Giants in 2010).

Dynasty Makers

  1. 1981 NFC Championship Game -- Dallas Cowboys vs. San Francisco 49ers
  1. 1983 NFC Championship Game -- San Francisco 49ers vs. Washington Redskins
  1. 1967 NFL Championship (The Ice Bowl) -- Dallas Cowboys vs. Green Bay Packers
  1. 1971 AFC Divisional Round Game -- Miami Dolphins vs. Kansas City Chiefs
  1. 1992 AFC Wild Card Game -- Houston Oilers vs. Buffalo Bills
  1. 1992 NFC Championship Game -- Dallas Cowboys vs. San Francisco 49ers

Individual Heroics

  1. 1981 AFC Divisional Round Game -- San Diego Chargers vs. Miami Dolphins
  1. 2010 NFC Wild Card Game -- New Orleans Saints vs. Seattle Seahawks
  1. 1986 AFC Championship Game (The Drive) -- Denver Broncos vs. Cleveland Browns
  1. 2009 NFC Wild Card Game -- Green Bay Packers vs. Arizona Cardinals
  1. 1975 NFC Divisional Round Game -- Dallas Cowboys vs. Minnesota Vikings

Crazy Endings

  1. Week 15, 2010 (Miracle at the New Meadowlands) -- Philadelphia Eagles vs. New York Giants
  1. 1987 AFC Championship Game (The Fumble) -- Cleveland Browns vs. Denver Broncos
  1. 1972 AFC Divisional Round Game -- Oakland Raiders vs. Pittsburgh Steelers
  1. Week 8, 2000 Monday Night Football -- Miami Dolphins vs. New York Jets
  1. 2001 AFC Divisional Round Game (The Tuck Rule) -- Oakland Raiders vs. New England Patriots
  1. 1998 NFC Wild Card Game -- Green Bay Packers vs. San Francisco 49ers

Great from the Get-Go

  1. 1958 NFL Championship -- Baltimore Colts vs. New York Giants
  1. 2006 AFC Championship Game -- New England Patriots vs. Indianapolis Colts
  1. 1966 NFL Championship -- Green Bay Packers vs. Dallas Cowboys
  1. 1986 AFC Divisional Round Game -- New York Jets at Cleveland Browns
  1. 1977 AFC Divisional Round Game (Ghost to the Post) -- Oakland Raiders vs. Baltimore Colts
  1. 2011 NFC Divisional Round Game -- New Orleans Saints at San Francisco 49ers
  1. 1980 NFC Divisional Round Game -- Dallas Cowboys at Atlanta Falcons
  1. 1990 NFC Championship Game -- New York Giants at San Francisco 49ers
This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content