NFL, USAA announce nominees for 2014 Salute to Serivce award

The NFL and USAA, the NFL's Official Military Appreciation Sponsor, announced Wednesday nominees for the fourth annual Salute to Service Award presented by USAA.

Teams nominated players, coaches, personnel and alumni who demonstrate an exemplary commitment to honoring and supporting the military community. A list of the 2014 Salute to Service Award nominees is below.

Finalists for the Salute to Service Award presented by USAA will be announced in January, and the winner will be recognized at the "4th Annual NFL Honors" awards show in Arizona on NBC on Saturday, Jan. 31, the night before Super Bowl XLIX.

Baltimore Ravens head coach John Harbaugh was last year's award winner. USAA, a leading provider of insurance and other services to U.S. military members, veterans and their families, contributed $25,000 in his honor to the official aid societies representing all five military branches.

Harbaugh invites wounded warriors as his guests to every Ravens home game and helped institute Military Appreciation Day, an annual event that takes place during Baltimore's training camp. In 2012, he was presented the Outstanding Civilian Service Award by Army Chief of Staff Gen. Raymond Odierno.

Harbaugh will serve on the award panel and vote for this year's winner. Chicago Bears cornerback Charles Tillman was the 2012 winner, and the inaugural winner in 2011 was Tennessee Titans late owner K.S. "Bud" Adams, a World War II veteran.

Fans everywhere can join USAA in honoring military by visiting throughout the season to view digital content featuring military and NFL players, coaches and legends -- including Robert Griffin III, Ron Rivera, Roger Staubach and Charles Tillman.

The Salute to Service Award is part of the NFL and USAA's yearlong commitment to recognize and honor the military community. Culminating in November with the NFL's Salute to Service campaign, for every point scored during the NFL's 32 designated Salute to Service games, the league donates $100 to each of its three core, military non-profit partners -- the Pat Tillman Foundation, USO and Wounded Warrior Project® -- for a total of $300 per point.

To find out more about the NFL's Salute to Service campaign or to read teams' Salute to Service award nominations, visit

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.