Skip to main content

LSU's Mount Rushmore: Top all-time NFL players from LSU

Over the next two weeks, CFB 24/7 will unveil its choices for the Mount Rushmores -- top 4 all-time NFL players -- from 10 top college football programs. The 10 were chosen based on the total number of NFL players produced by the school. The series continues with the LSU Tigers.

Carved into LSU's Mount Rushmore:
» Jim Taylor
» Y.A. Tittle
» Steve Van Buren
» Alan Faneca

Why those four? Taylor was a part of four of the five Packers teams that won championships in the 1960s. A romping, stomping fullback for Vince Lombardi's power-sweeping Packers teams, Taylor won the rushing title in 1962, the only year in which Jim Brown didn't lead the league in rushing during his legendary nine-year career. ... Known by many as being the subject of one of the most memorable sports photographs in American history, Tittle was a seven-time Pro Bowl selection. ... Van Buren -- the first first-round draft selection out of LSU -- was a four-time NFL rushing leader and the first running back to achieve three consecutive rushing titles. Van Buren was a central figure in the Philadelphia Eagles' 1948 NFL Championship win in a blizzard. ... Faneca played for 13 seasons in the trenches, and earned nine Pro Bowl nods in the process. He was also selected to the NFL's 2000s all-decade team.

Also considered:Odell Beckham, Kevin Faulk, Kevin Mawae, Patrick Peterson

Total number of NFL players from school: 327

Total first-round draft picks from school: 38

Total picks from school in 2016 NFL Draft: 5 (Deion Jones, Round 2; Jerald Hawkins, Round 4; Rashard Robinson, Round 4; Jalen Mills, Round 7; Vadal Alexander, Round 7)

Members of Pro Football Hall of Fame: 3 (Taylor, Tittle, Van Buren)

Follow College Football 24/7 on Twitter _@NFLCFB_.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content