Skip to main content

Tomlinson among 16 chosen for College Football Hall of Fame

Two Pro Football Hall of Famers, former Alabama linebacker Derrick Thomas and former Louisiana Tech offensive tackle Willie Roaf, were among 16 players and coaches announced Thursday as the newest members of the College Football Hall of Fame.

Also selected for induction were two NFL Media analysts: former TCU running back LaDainian Tomlinson and former South Carolina wide receiver Sterling Sharpe.

The other players: North Carolina cornerback Dre Bly, USC offensive tackle Tony Boselli, Purdue defensive tackle Dave Butz, Penn State linebacker Shane Conlan, Georgia Tech quarterback Joe Hamilton, Maine linebacker John Huard, Stanford running back Darrin Nelson, UCLA quarterback John Sciarra, McNeese State cornerback Leonard Smith and Mississippi tight end Wesley Walls. They were joined by coaches Mike Bellotti (Chico State and Oregon) and Jerry Moore (Appalachian State, North Texas and Texas Tech).

Among those on the ballot who didn't get in were SMU running back Eric Dickerson, Miami defensive tackle Warren Sapp (who was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame last year and currently works as an analyst for NFL Media), California linebacker Ron Rivera (coach of the Carolina Panthers), Miami linebacker Ray Lewis, USC wide receiver Keyshawn Johnson and Ohio State linebacker Tom Cousineau, as well as three former Heisman winners: Nebraska quarterback Eric Crouch, Colorado running back Rashaan Salaam and Texas running back Ricky Williams.

The ballot included 75 former players and six coaches from the FBS ranks, as well as players and coaches from the FCS, Division II, Division III and NAIA ranks. The complete list of nominees is here.

The official induction will be Dec. 9.

The voting was done by the 12,000 members of the National Football Foundation -- which oversees the Hall of Fame -- and current Hall of Famers.

From the NFF website: "To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a first-team All-American by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach; won at least 60 percent of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three years. If a coach is retired and over the age of 70, there is no waiting period. If he is over the age of 75, he is eligible as an active coach. In both cases, the candidate's post-football record as a citizen may also be weighed."

Mike Huguenin can be reached at You also can follow him on Twitter @MikeHuguenin.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content