Skip to main content

Tom Coughlin, Drew Brees, Tim Tebow win ESPYs

Tom Coughlin, Drew Brees, Aaron Rodgers, Matthew Stafford and Tim Tebow were among the NFL winners Wednesday night at ESPN's annual ESPY Awards.

Coughlin was named 2011's coach/manager of the year for leading the New York Giants to an unexpected Super Bowl title for the second time in five seasons.

Jeremiah: Supplemental draft primer

Daniel Jeremiah provides everything you must know about the supplemental draft, including the one draftable player. **More ...**

Brees was recognized for throwing for a record-breaking 5,476 yards for the New Orleans Saints. Rodgers, the NFL's Most Valuable Player, was chosen NFL player of the year. Stafford won best comeback for his return from shoulder surgery. Tebow and Broncos receiver Demaryius Thomas won best moment for their 80-yard overtime touchdown that beat the Pittsburgh Steelers in last season's AFC Wild-Card Game.

Washington Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III was named male college athlete of the year for winning the Heisman Trophy at Baylor.

The show's game-of-the-year award went to the San Francisco 49ers' 36-32 win over the Saints in the NFC divisional playoffs.

The televised event from Los Angeles' Nokia Theatre was hosted by comedian Rob Riggle and featured a bevy of famous athletes and show business players in the audience and on stage.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.