Skip to main content

Texas A&M QB Johnny Manziel among Walter Camp finalists


Florida State redshirt freshman quarterback Jameis Winston heads the list of five finalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

While Winston's inclusion on the list was a given, one of the names was a bit of a surprise: Texas A&M sophomore quarterback Johnny Manziel made the cut after finishing the regular season with back-to-back subpar games.

The other three finalists are Northern Illinois senior quarterback Jordan Lynch, Alabama senior quarterback AJ McCarron and Boston College senior tailback Andre Williams.

The winner -- which should be Winston, with Lynch the runner-up -- will be announced Dec. 12. The award is voted on by FBS coaches and sports information directors.

Winston has a chance to set the NCAA single-season record for passing efficiency and has FSU one win away from an appearance in the BCS national championship game. He has thrown for 3,490 yards and a school-record 35 touchdowns for a team that averages 53.7 points per game.

Manziel also was a finalist last season, when Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o won the award.

Other recent winners include Auburn quarterback Cam Newton in 2010, Texas quarterback Colt McCoy in 2008 and '09, USC tailback Reggie Bush in 2006 and Pitt wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald in 2003.

Mike Huguenin can be reached at You also can follow him on Twitter @MikeHuguenin.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content