Skip to main content

Robert Porcher among 6 selected to Black CFB Hall of Fame

The Black College Football Hall of Fame announced its class of 2017 on Wednesday. Six new members were selected from a list of 25 finalists.

The 2017 inductees: Parnell "Paydirt" Dickinson (Mississippi Valley State), Harold "Sunny" Jackson (Jackson State), Gary "Big Hands" Johnson (Grambling State), Robert Porcher (South Carolina State, Tennessee State), Isiah "Butch" Robertson (Southern) and Coach Billy Joe (Cheyney, Central State, Florida A&M, Miles College).

"This class is another representation of the immense football talent that has played at historically black colleges and universities," stated BCFHOF co-founder and 2012 inductee James "Shack" Harris. "All five players were college All-Americans, and three were first-round NFL draft picks."

Indeed, Johnson (eighth overall pick of the Chargers in 1975), Porcher (26th overall pick of the Lions in 1992) and Robertson (10th overall pick of the Rams in 1971) were each first-rounders. Four of the players (Jackson, Johnson, Porcher and Robertson) are former NFL All-Pros.

The 2017 class will be inducted at the Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, presented by the Atlanta Falcons, on Feb. 25, 2017 at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. Johnson will be inducted posthumously. He died in 2010.

The BCFHOF, which was established in 2009, honors the greatest players, coaches and contributors from historically black colleges and universities. Per the BCFHOF, the inductees were determined by a 12-member selection committee of journalists, commentators, historians, former NFL GMs and executives, and previous BCFHOF inductees.

Follow College Football 24/7 on Twitter _@NFLCFB_.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content