Skip to main content

Packers QB Rodgers receives most fan votes for Pro Bowl

The big achievements keep coming for Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers, this time leading all NFL all-stars in balloting for the 2012 Pro Bowl with 1,581,982 votes in a year featuring a record 100.64 million votes cast by fans.

Rodgers, who led the Packers to the Super Bowl XLV title, also was named the Associated Press Male Athlete of the Year on Wednesday.

New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady led all AFC players and finished second overall with 1,454,311 votes, while New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees (1,188,893), Detroit Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson (1,180,777) and Patriots wide receiver Wes Welker (1,133,787) rounded out the top five.

The Pro Bowl will be played Jan. 29 at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu. The teams will be announced on NFL Network at 7 p.m. (ET) Tuesday on a special NFL Total Access 2012 Pro Bowl Selection Show. Fans may purchase game tickets at .

The AFC and NFC All-Star teams will be based on the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group's vote will count one-third toward determining the 43-man rosters that represent the AFC and the NFC in the Pro Bowl. NFL players and coaches will cast their votes Dec. 21-22.

The NFL is the only sports league that combines voting by fans, coaches and players to determine its all-star teams. It also was the first pro sports league to offer online all-star voting in 1995.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.