Notre Dame, Stanford have most Super Bowl starts at QB


Wisconsin will become the 44th school to have a starting quarterback in the Super Bowl when Seattle's Russell Wilson takes the field Sunday.

Twenty schools have had alums make at least two starts at quarterback in a Super Bowl, and 10 schools have had at least four starts.

Notre Dame and Stanford quarterbacks have started more Super Bowls than any other school, with seven; Purdue has six; Michigan has five; and Alabama, Louisiana Tech, Miami, Navy and UCLA have four each.

Three schools have had three quarterbacks start a Super Bowl, tied for the most of any school: Alabama (Joe Namath, Ken Stabler, Bart Starr), Notre Dame (Daryle Lamonica, Joe Montana and Joe Theismann) and Purdue (Drew Brees, Len Dawson and Bob Griese).

Twenty-three schools have produced Super Bowl-winning quarterbacks, led by Notre Dame with five victories. Alabama, Louisiana Tech, Purdue and Stanford have four wins each.

A Seahawks win would make Wisconsin one of just three Big Ten schools with a Super Bowl-winning quarterback; Michigan and Purdue are the others. Wisconsin would be the seventh Big Ten school to have an alum start a Super Bowl at quarterback, joining Illinois, Michigan, Michigan State, Nebraska, Penn State and Purdue.

Peyton Manning, a Tennessee alum, is making his third Super Bowl start. That ties the Vols with Georgia for second-most Super Bowl starts among SEC schools, behind Alabama. Florida and Ole Miss are the only other SEC schools to have an alum start a Super Bowl at quarterback. Alabama, Ole Miss and Tennessee are the SEC schools with Super Bowl victories.

This is the fourth Super Bowl in seven years to match teams with starting quarterbacks from the Big Ten and SEC and the fifth time in that span that at least one SEC alum has started a Super Bowl at quarterback.

Here's a look at Super Bowl-winning quarterbacks, their alma maters, and their wins:

» Terry Bradshaw, Louisiana Tech: 4
» Joe Montana, Notre Dame: 4
» Troy Aikman, UCLA: 3
» Tom Brady, Michigan: 3
» Bob Griese, Purdue: 2
» Eli Manning, Ole Miss: 2
» Jim Plunkett, Stanford: 2
» Ben Roethlisberger, Miami (Ohio): 2
» Bart Starr, Alabama: 2
» Roger Staubach, Navy: 2
» Drew Brees, Purdue: 1
» Len Dawson, Purdue: 1
» Trent Dilfer, Fresno State: 1
» Brett Favre, Southern Miss: 1
» Joe Flacco, Delaware: 1
» Jeff Hostetler, West Virginia: 1
» Brad Johnson, Florida State: 1
» Peyton Manning, Tennessee: 1
» Jim McMahon, BYU: 1
» Joe Namath, Alabama: 1
» Aaron Rodgers, California: 1
» Mark Rypien, Washington State: 1
» Phil Simms, Morehead State: 1
» Ken Stabler, Alabama: 1
» Joe Theismann, Notre Dame: 1
» Johnny Unitas, Louisville: 1
» Kurt Warner, Northern Iowa: 1
» Doug Williams, Grambling: 1
» Steve Young, BYU: 1

Mike Huguenin can be reached at You also can follow him on Twitter @MikeHuguenin.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content