Skip to main content

NFL picks new co-chairs of updated concussion committee

NEW YORK -- The NFL has picked two new co-chairmen -- and a new name -- for its committee on concussions.

Dr. Hunt Batjer of Northwestern University, and Dr. Richard Ellenbogen of the University of Washington will lead what now will be called the NFL head, neck and spine medical committee, the league announced Tuesday.

The panel used to be called the NFL mild traumatic brain injury committee.

Dr. Ira Casson and Dr. David Viano, who had led the league committee on concussions since 2007, resigned in November, less than one month after Casson and the NFL's concussion policy were criticized by Congress during a hearing at which Commissioner Roger Goodell testified.

Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.