Mike Huguenin's All-American team and major award picks

College Football 24/7 writer Mike Huguenin names his 2013 college football All-American and picks for the season's major awards:

Award picks

Heisman Trophy: Jameis Winston, Florida State
Davey O'Brien Award (Top quarterback): Jameis Winston, Florida State
Doak Walker Award (Top running back): Andre Williams, Boston College
Fred Biletnikoff Award (Top receiver): Brandin Cooks, Oregon State
John Mackey Award (Top tight end): Eric Ebron, North Carolina
Outland Trophy (Top interior lineman): Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
Rotary Lombardi Award (Top lineman or linebacker): Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
Chuck Bednarik Award (Top defensive player): Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
Bronko Nagurski Award (Top defensive player): Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
Ted Hendricks Award (Top defensive end): Vic Beasley, Clemson
Dick Butkus Award (Top linebacker): Ryan Shazier, Ohio State
Jim Thorpe Award (Top defensive back): Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State
Paul Hornung Award (Most versatile player): Antonio Andrews, Western Kentucky
Coach of the year: Gus Malzahn, Auburn

Ranking the bowl games


Because college football apparently needs 35 bowl games, it's a lot easier to pick the best game than to pick the worst. Here's a ranking of each matchup from worst to best. More ...

All-American teams


QB: Jameis Winston, Florida State
RB: Bishop Sankey, Washington
RB: Andre Williams, Boston College
FB: David Sims, Georgia Tech
WR: Brandin Cooks, Oregon State
WR: Sammy Watkins, Clemson
TE: Jace Amaro, Texas Tech
OT: Taylor Lewan, Michigan
OT: Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
G: Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State
G: Cyril Richardson, Baylor
C: Weston Richburg, Colorado State


DE: Vic Beasley, Clemson
DE: Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas
DT: Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
DT: Kelcy Quarles, South Carolina
LB:C.J. Mosley, Alabama
LB: Trent Murphy, Stanford
LB: Ryan Shazier, Ohio State
CB: Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State
CB: Jason Verrett, TCU
S: Deone Bucannon, Washington State
S: Calvin Pryor, Louisville


K: Austin Lopez, San Jose State
P: Cody Webster, Purdue
KR: Brelan Chancellor, North Texas

Follow Mike Huguenin on Twitter @MikeHuguenin.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content