Skip to main content

Johnny Manziel up for second straight Manning Award


Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel may not repeat as the Heisman Trophy winner, but don't count him out as a back-to-back Manning Award winner.

Manziel was named among 10 finalists for the award Tuesday.

Despite losing badly at the hands of LSU last week, Manziel has had a more prolific season as a passer this year than he did as a freshman. The third-year sophomore has thrown for 3,537 yards and 32 touchdowns in 11 games.

The award, sponsored by the Sugar Bowl, was created to honor the accomplishments of what is known as the first family of quarterbacks: Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the lone award for quarterbacks that withholds its winners until after the bowl season.

"This has been another great year for quarterbacks, and it's getting more interesting as the games get bigger," Archie Manning said. "We really appreciate our selection committee's work in choosing this outstanding group of finalists. I'm looking forward to seeing how they all do over the next couple of weeks and through their bowl games as we prepare to honor our 10th winner in January."

Other finalists include Alabama's AJ McCarron, Clemson's Tajh Boyd, Louisville's Teddy Bridgewater, Fresno State's Derek Carr, Northern Illinois' Jordan Lynch, Oregon's Marcus Mariota, FSU's Jameis Winston, Baylor's Bryce Petty and Georgia's Aaron Murray.

Follow Chase Goodbread on Twitter @ChaseGoodbread.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content