Skip to main content

How Heisman Trophy winners have fared in bowl games

Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota is hoping recent Heisman history repeats: Each of the last five Heisman winners has played on a winning team in a bowl game, and the past three Heisman winners who had a shot at the national title got it.

But while five consecutive Heisman winners have won their bowl games, including three in title games, that came on the heels of a nine-season stretch in which seven Heisman winners lost in their bowl games -- and six of those losses came in national title appearances.

For Mariota and the Ducks to win the national title, they'll have to win two postseason games -- a playoff semifinal on Jan. 1 in the Rose Bowl against Florida State and 2013 Heisman winner Jameis Winston, then a national championship game Jan. 12.

Here is a look at how all the Heisman winners have fared in their postseason games since the award was introduced in 1935. (Note: Unless specified, "no bowl" means a player's team either didn't qualify for a bowl or didn't accept postseason bids. And remember that in the days of yore, generally only conference champs went to bowl games.)

Check out Florida State's quarterback, "Famous" Jameis Winston, the 2013 Heisman winner and two-sport star.

2013: Florida State QB Jameis Winston

2012: Texas A&M QB Johnny Manziel

2011: Baylor QB Robert Griffin III

2010: Auburn QB Cam Newton

2009: Alabama RB Mark Ingram

2008: Oklahoma QB Sam Bradford

2007: Florida QB Tim Tebow

2006: Ohio State QB Troy Smith

2005: USC RB Reggie Bush

2004: USC QB Matt Leinart

2003: Oklahoma QB Jason White

2002: USC QB Carson Palmer

2001: Nebraska QB Eric Crouch

2000: Florida State QB Chris Weinke

1999: Wisconsin RB Ron Dayne

1998: Texas RB Ricky Williams

1997: Michigan CB Charles Woodson

1996: Florida QB Danny Wuerffel

1995: Ohio State RB Eddie George

1994: Colorado RB Rashaan Salaam

1993: Florida State QB Charlie Ward

1992: Miami QB Gino Torretta

1991: Michigan WR Desmond Howard

1990: BYU QB Ty Detmer

1989: Houston QB Andre Ware

Take a look at the top single-game rushing yardage performances in major college football history.

1988: Oklahoma State RB Barry Sanders

1987: Notre Dame WR Tim Brown

1986: Miami QB Vinny Testaverde

1985: Auburn RB Bo Jackson

1984: Boston College QB Doug Flutie

1983: Nebraska RB Mike Rozier

1982: Georgia RB Herschel Walker

1981: USC RB Marcus Allen

1980: South Carolina RB George Rogers

1979: USC RB Charles White

1978: Oklahoma RB Billy Sims

1977: Texas RB Earl Campbell

1976: Pitt RB Tony Dorsett

1975: Ohio State RB Archie Griffin

1974: Ohio State RB Archie Griffin

1973: Penn State RB John Capelletti

Check out college football's "Games of the Century".

1972: Nebraska WR Johnny Rodgers

1971: Auburn QB Pat Sullivan

1970: Stanford QB Jim Plunkett

1969: Oklahoma FB Steve Owens

1968: USC RB O.J. Simpson

1967: UCLA QB Gary Beban

1966: Florida QB Steve Spurrier

1965: USC RB Mike Garrett

1964: Notre Dame QB John Huarte

Take a look at iconic images through the years from one of the greatest rivalries in college football, the Army-Navy game.

1963: Navy QB Roger Staubach

1962: Oregon State QB Terry Baker

1961: Syracuse RB Ernie Davis

1960: Navy RB Joe Bellino

1959: LSU RB Billy Cannon

1958: Army RB Pete Dawkins

1957: Texas A&M RB John David Crow

1956: Notre Dame QB Paul Hornung

1955: Ohio State RB Howard Cassady

1954: Wisconsin FB Alan Ameche

Check out the top 10 players from Notre Dame to play in the NFL.

1953: Notre Dame RB John Lattner

1952: Oklahoma RB Billy Vessels

1951: Princeton RB Dick Kazmaier

1950: Ohio State RB Vic Janowicz

1949: Notre Dame E Leon Hart

1948: SMU RB Doak Walker

1947: Notre Dame QB John Lujack

1946: Army RB Glenn Davis

1945: Army FB Doc Blanchard

Check out the top 10 players from Ohio State to play in the NFL.

1944: Ohio State QB Les Horvath

1943: Notre Dame QB Angelo Bertelli

1942: Georgia RB Frank Sinkwich

1941: Minnesota RB Bruce Smith

1940: Michigan RB Tom Harmon

1939: Iowa RB Nile Kinnick

1938: TCU QB Davey O'Brien

1937: Yale RB Clint Frank

1936: Yale E Larry Kelley

1935: Chicago RB Jay Berwanger

Mike Huguenin can be reached at You also can follow him on Twitter @MikeHuguenin.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content