Florida to honor Heisman winners Tebow, Wuerffel, Spurrier

Tim Tebow might not be the Denver Broncos' starting quarterback, but he'll have something that incumbent Kyle Orton doesn't -- a statue erected in his honor at his alma mater.

Tebow (2007) and fellow Heisman Trophy winners Steve Spurrier (1966) and Danny Wuerffel (1996) will be honored on the west side of the University of Florida's Ben Hill Griffin Stadium with life-sized representations, which will be unveiled during halftime of the Gators' spring game April 9.

The statues were provided to the school through private donations.

Tebow, a first-round pick of the Broncos in the 2010 NFL Draft, led the Gators to the BCS national championship after the 2008 season, one year after he became the first sophomore to win the Heisman, which goes to college football's best player.

Wuerffel, as quarterback, and Spurrier, as coach, teamed up to lead the Gators to their first national title in 1996. Wuerffel, who won the Heisman as a senior, went on to be a fourth-round draft choice of the New Orleans Saints the following spring and spent six years in the NFL.

Spurrier played and coached in the NFL. After winning the Heisman following his senior season, he was the third overall pick by the San Francisco 49ers in the 1967 draft. He played 10 seasons in the NFL.

Spurrier returned to the league as a head coach in 2002, guiding the Washington Redskins to a 12-20 record in two seasons. Wuerffel was Spurrier's quarterback in 2002.

Florida is one of eight schools with at least three Heisman Trophy winners and one of two programs with at least three quarterbacks who have won college football's most prestigious award.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.