Skip to main content

Favre's No. 4 to become sixth number retired by Packers

The Green Bay Packers will retire Brett Favre's No. 4 at the team's season opener, Monday night, Sept. 8, vs. the Minnesota Vikings, Packers President/CEO Mark Murphy announced Thursday.

"The season-opening game is always an exciting event, and now we're very pleased to add the retirement of Brett's No. 4 to that evening," Murphy said. "It will make for an electric atmosphere at Lambeau Field, as well as a great opportunity for our fans around the country to share in it while watching the game on the national broadcast.

"Ted Thompson, Mike McCarthy and I looked at the entire schedule and felt the first game would be an ideal time to have the event. I spoke with Brett, as did Ted and Mike, about which game to choose. Ultimately, through our communications, we decided the first game would work great."

Planning for the ceremony is underway with further details to be announced at a later date.

Favre's No. 4 will become the sixth number retired by the storied franchise. Other retired Packers numbers include the No. 14 of wide receiver Don Hutson (1951), No. 3 of fullback Tony Canadeo (1952), No. 15 of quarterback Bart Starr (1973), No. 66 of linebacker Ray Nitschke (1983) and No. 92 of defensive end Reggie White (2005).

All five bearers of the previously retired numbers are enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.