Belichick was asked if he believed it was a legitimate call.
"We weren't on the second level when we pushed him, no," the Patriots coach said. "You can't push from the second level. I didn't think we did that."
The penalty is based on a new rule put in place this offseason. The rulebook states: "Team B players cannot push teammates on the line of scrimmage into the offensive formation."
You can question the rule, but that's what happened on this play. The rulebook does not say that it matters where a player lines up, then pushes a teammate.
Dean Blandino, the NFL's vice president of officiating, explained the penalty to NFL Network: "When you look at the play, you can see New England No. 94 (Jones) pushing New England No. 74 (Will Svitek) into the (offensive) formation. That's a violation of the rule, it was put in for player safety, and it is the correct call."
Greg Bedard of TheMMQB.com pointed out that the examples the NFL showed teams during the offseason concerning the new rule showed linebackers lining up behind defensive linemen and pushing. That could be why Belichick was confused.
"We've seen it before, and it hasn't been called," Blandino said. "This is the first time it's been called."