2014 Walter Camp Award watch list


The long wait is nearly over as football fans are less than two months away from the start of the 2014 college football season. With the season approaching, the presenters of various college football awards have started releasing their "watch lists" for the season.

The Walter Camp Award, which goes to the nation's top player, released its watch list Friday. There are 50 players on the list, headed by Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston. He won it last season and is trying to become the fourth two-time winner, joining Texas quarterback Colt McCoy (2008-09), Ohio State running back Archie Griffin (1974-75) and USC running back O.J. Simpson (1967-68).

Others on the watch list include Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota, Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller, Georgia running back Todd Gurley, Nebraska defensive end Randy Gregory and Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon.

In all, there are 42 schools represented, with Alabama having the most with three (wide receiver Amari Cooper, free safety Landon Collins and running back T.J. Yeldon). There are 33 offensive players (including tackles Cameron Erving of Florida State and Andrus Peat of Stanford) and 17 defenders.

2014 Walter Camp Award watch list

Ameer Abdullah, RB, Nebraska
Nelson Agholor, WR, USC
Jay Ajayi, RB, Boise State
Chi Chi Ariguzo, LB, Northwestern
Vic Beasley, DE, Clemson
Shilique Calhoun, DE, Michigan State
Shane Carden, QB, East Carolina
Rakeem Cato, QB, Marshall
Landon Collins, S, Alabama
Amari Cooper, WR, Alabama
Jamison Crowder, WR, Duke
Mike Davis, RB, South Carolina
Stefon Diggs, WR, Maryland
Lorenzo Doss, DB, Tulane
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, CB, Oregon
Cameron Erving, OT, Florida State
Devonte Fields, DE, TCU
Devin Funchess, WR, Michigan
Everett Golson, QB, Notre Dame
Melvin Gordon, RB, Wisconsin
Garrett Grayson, QB, Colorado State
Randy Gregory, DE, Nebraska
Todd Gurley, RB, Georgia
Vernon Hargreaves, CB, Florida
Anthony Harris, S, Virginia
Brock Hekking, DL, Nevada
Austin Hill, WR, Arizona
Taysom Hill, QB, BYU
Brett Hundley, QB, UCLA
Myles Jack, LB, UCLA
Duke Johnson, RB, Miami
Matt Johnson, QB, Bowling Green
Taylor Kelly, QB, Arizona State
Trevor Knight, QB, Oklahoma
Qushaun Lee, LB, Arkansas State
Tyler Lockett, WR, Kansas State
Sean Mannion, QB, Oregon State
Marcus Mariota, QB, Oregon
Nick Marshall, QB, Auburn
Braxton Miller, QB, Ohio State
Ty Montgomery, WR, Stanford
Andrus Peat, OT, Stanford
Bryce Petty, QB, Baylor
Terrance Plummer, LB, UCF
Cody Prewitt, DB, Ole Miss
Keenan Reynolds, QB, Navy
Derron Smith, DB, Fresno State
Ramik Wilson, LB, Georgia
Jameis Winston, QB, Florida State
T.J. Yeldon, RB, Alabama

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content