2014 Jim Thorpe Award watch list


The long wait is nearly over as football fans are less than two months away from the start of the 2014 college football season. With the season approaching, the presenters of various college football awards have started releasing their "watch lists" for the season.

The organizers of the Thorpe (top defensive back) award released a list of 39 players. The list is headed by cornerbacks Ifo Ekpre-Olomu of Oregon, Vernon Hargreaves III of Florida, Trae Waynes of Michigan State and P.J. Williams of Florida State; and safeties Landon Collins of Alabama, Anthony Harris of Virginia and Derron Smith of Fresno State. Waynes is attempting to become the second consecutive Spartans cornerback to win the award. Darqueze Dennard -- the first-round pick of the Cincinnati Bengals in the 2014 NFL Draft -- was the 2013 winner.

Jim Thorpe Award watch list

Kevin Byard, Middle Tennessee
Bryce Callahan, Rice
Ibraheim Campbell, Northwestern
Sam Carter, TCU
Jeremy Cash, Duke
Donald Celiscar, Western Michigan
Landon Collins, Alabama
Blake Countess, Michigan
Su'a Cravens, USC
Donte Deayon, Boise State
Quandre Diggs, Texas
Lorenzo Doss, Tulane
Kurtis Drummond, Michigan State
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon
Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech
Clayton Geathers, Central Florida
Jacoby Glenn, Central Florida
Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida
Anthony Harris, Virginia
Rocky Hayes, Arkansas State
Jeremy Ioane, Boise State
Jordan Lucas, Penn State
Marcus Peters, Washington
Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss
Jalen Ramsey, Florida State
Jordan Richards, Stanford
Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma
Derron Smith, Fresno State
D'Joun Smith, Florida Atlantic
Trevon Stewart, Houston
Brian Suite, Utah State
Cam Thomas, Western Kentucky
Triston Wade, Texas-San Antonio
Ryland Ward, Bowling Green
Trae Waynes, Michigan State

Follow College Football 24/7 on Twitter @NFL_CFB.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content