2014 Davey O'Brien Award watch list


The long wait is nearly over as football fans are less than two months away from the start of the 2014 college football season. With the season approaching, the presenters of various college football awards have started releasing their "watch lists" for the season.

The Davey O'Brien Award, which goes to the nation's top quarterback, released its watch list Wednesday. There are 39 players on the list, headed by six semifinalists from last season: UCLA's Brett Hundley, Oregon State's Sean Mannion, Oregon's Marcus Mariota, Ohio State's Braxton Miller, Baylor's Bryce Petty and Florida State's Jameis Winston.

Winston won the award last season and is seeking to become the fourth two-time winner, joining BYU's Ty Detmer (1990-91), Florida's Danny Wuerffel (1995-96) and Oklahoma's Jason White (2003-04).

Nineteen of those on the list are seniors, along with 13 juniors and seven sophomores. The Pac-12 has eight players on the list, while the Big Ten, Big 12 and SEC have five each.

2014 Davey O'Brien Award watch list

Anthony Boone, Duke
Terrance Broadway, Louisiana-Lafayette
Shane Carden, East Carolina
Rakeem Cato, Marshall
Connor Cook, Michigan State
Jeff Driskel, Florida
Cody Fajardo, Nevada
Devin Gardner, Michigan
Jared Goff, Cal
Everett Golson, Notre Dame
Garrett Grayson, Colorado State
Christian Hackenberg, Penn State
Connor Halliday, Washington State
Grant Hedrick, Boise State
Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion
Taysom Hill, BYU
Kevin Hogan, Stanford
Brett Hundley, UCLA
Matt Johnson, Bowling Green
Chuckie Keeton, Utah State
Taylor Kelly, Arizona State
Cody Kessler, USC
Trevor Knight, Oklahoma
Sean Mannion, Oregon State
Marcus Mariota, Oregon
Nick Marshall, Auburn
Hutson Mason, Georgia
Braxton Miller, Ohio State
John O'Korn, Houston
Bryce Petty, Baylor
Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
Keenan Reynolds, Navy
Joel Stave, Wisconsin
P.J. Walker, Temple
Bo Wallace, Ole Miss
J.W. Walsh, Oklahoma State
Jake Waters, Kansas State
Davis Webb, Texas Tech
Jameis Winston, Florida State

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content