2014 college football award predictions: Heisman and more

It's time to hand out hardware to the nation's top college football players. Here's a rundown of the major awards and who we think will win each of them.

Bednarik Award (top defender)

Biletnikoff Award (top receiver)

The finalists: Amari Cooper, Alabama; Rashard Higgins, Colorado State; Kevin White, West Virginia
Projected winner: Cooper. He also is a Heisman finalist and the most talented receiver in the nation. This is a strong group of finalists: Each is among the top five in the nation in receptions and top six in receiving yards.

Walter Camp Award (top player)

Groza Award (top kicker)

Ray Guy Award (top punter)

Heisman Trophy (top player)

Lombardi Award (best lineman/linebacker)

Maxwell Award (top player)

Davey O'Brien Award (top quarterback)

Outland Trophy (top interior lineman)

Jim Thorpe Award (top defensive back)

Rimington Trophy (top center)

Doak Walker Award (top running back)

Four award winners we already know: UCLA's Eric Kendricks won the Butkus Award as the nation's best linebacker; Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright -- who wasn't a Butkus finalist -- won the Bronko Nagurski Trophy as the nation's best defensive player; Florida State's Nick O'Leary won the John Mackey Award as the nation's top tight end; and Utah's Nate Orchard won the Ted Hendricks Award as the nation's top defensive end.

Mike Huguenin can be reached at mike.huguenin@nfl.com. You also can follow him on Twitter @MikeHuguenin.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content