Thirty-two players nominated for 2021 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

The 32 player nominees for the eighth annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award have been finalized, the NFL announced today. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney Sr.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community -- Warrick Dunn, 2014 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award recipient Larry Fitzgerald, Pro Football Hall of Famer Curtis Martin and Leonard Wheeler -- will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote later this month.

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

2021 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Nominees

Table inside Article
Arizona CardinalsS Budda Baker
Atlanta FalconsOL Jake Matthews
Baltimore RavensQB Lamar Jackson
Buffalo BillsQB Josh Allen
Carolina PanthersOLB Frankie Luvu
Chicago BearsLB Roquan Smith
Cincinnati BengalsWR Stanley Morgan
Cleveland BrownsRB Nick Chubb
Dallas CowboysQB Dak Prescott
Denver BroncosCB Pat Surtain II
Detroit LionsRB Jamaal Williams
Green Bay PackersRB Aaron Jones
Houston TexansWR Brandin Cooks
Indianapolis ColtsDL DeForest Buckner
Jacksonville JaguarsDB Shaquill Griffin
Kansas City ChiefsQB Patrick Mahomes
Las Vegas RaidersQB Derek Carr
Los Angeles ChargersS Derwin James
Los Angeles RamsDB Jordan Fuller
Miami DolphinsDB Jason McCourty
Minnesota VikingsWR Adam Thielen
New England PatriotsWR Matthew Slater
New Orleans SaintsDE Cameron Jordan
New York GiantsDB James Bradberry
New York JetsLB C.J. Mosley
Philadelphia EaglesCB Darius Slay
Pittsburgh SteelersQB Ben Roethlisberger
San Francisco 49ersFB Kyle Juszczyk
Seattle SeahawksWR Tyler Lockett
Tampa Bay BuccaneersLB Lavonte David
Tennessee TitansRB Derrick Henry
Washington Football TeamS Landon Collins

The winner of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. From the eight finalists, each team's players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The winner will be announced as part of NFL Honors. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.

Past Recipients of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Table inside Article
2020QB Teddy BridgewaterCarolina Panthers
2019RB Adrian PetersonWashington Football Team
2018QB Drew BreesNew Orleans Saints
2017LB Luke KuechlyCarolina Panthers
2016RB Frank GoreIndianapolis Colts
2015CB Charles WoodsonOakland Raiders
2014WR Larry FitzgeraldArizona Cardinals