CFB 24/7  


Antonio Callaway not among players selected to Biletnikoff list


Florida WR Antonio Callaway is one of the elite talents in college football at wide receiver, but he'll begin the season off the watch list for the Biletnikoff Award, presented annually to the nation's outstanding receiver, regardless of position.

Callaway was not among 45 players selected to the award's preseason watch list, which was released on Tuesday. The Gators star, ranked the No. 3 receiver to watch in college football by analyst Lance Zierlein, reached a plea deal on a drug charge Monday. Although no explanation was provided for his absence, criteria for the award includes a conduct clause. Florida coach Jim McElwain praised Callaway last week at SEC Media Days for his effort in practice, likening him to Julio Jones, but would not say whether Callaway would be suspended for UF's opening game against Michigan.

LSU WR D.J. Chark, Zierlein's No. 6 receiver, also did not make the watch list, although players can be added during the season. In fact, last year's winner, Dede Westbrook of Oklahoma, was not on the initial 2016 watch list.

Notable receivers who did make the watch list include SMU's Courtland Sutton, Alabama's Calvin Ridley, Clemson's Deon Cain, Texas A&M's Christian Kirk, Washington's Dante Pettis and Oklahoma State's James Washington. Sutton is ranked the No. 1 receiver to watch in college football by Zierlein.

Amari Cooper, Calvin Johnson, Larry Fitzgerald and Randy Moss are among the award's past winners.

Note: Click through tabs above to see other watch lists.

2017 Biletnikoff Award watch list

Sergio Bailey II, Eastern Michigan
Linell Bonner, Houston
Adam Breneman, Massachusetts
Ventell Bryant, Temple
Deon Cain, Clemson
Keke Coutee, Texas Tech
Deondre Douglas, Troy
Jonathan Duhart, Old Dominion
Shay Fields, Colorado
Michael Gallup, Colorado State
James Gardner, Miami (Ohio)
Devin Gray, Cincinnati
Andy Isabella, Massachusetts
Richie James, Middle Tennessee
KeeSean Johnson, Fresno State
Jon'Vea Johnson, Toledo
Christian Kirk, Texas A&M
Allen Lazard, Iowa State
Tavares Martin Jr., Washington State
Jalen McCleskey, Oklahoma State
Anthony Miller, Memphis
Scott Miller, Bowling Green
J'Mon Moore, Missouri
Dante Pettis, Washington
Ervin Philips, Syracuse
Cam Phillips, Virginia Tech
T.J. Rahming, Duke
Ahmmon Richards, Miami
Calvin Ridley, Alabama
Demetris Robertson, California
Devin Ross, Colorado
Deebo Samuel, South Carolina
Steven Sims Jr., Kansas
Tre'Quan Smith, UCF
Equanimeous St. Brown, Notre Dame
Allenzae Staggers, Southern Miss
Courtland Sutton, SMU
Cody Thompson, Toledo
Emanuel Thompson, Troy
James Washington, Oklahoma State
Jester Weah, Pitt
Nick Westbrook, Indiana
Jimmy Williams, East Carolina
Corey Willis, Central Michigan
Cedrick Wilson, Boise State

Follow Chase Goodbread on Twitter @ChaseGoodbread.



The previous element was an advertisement.

NFL Shop