NFL Podium Awards: Devin Hester takes gold for special teamers

Jerry Lai/US Presswire
Bears burner Devin Hester boasts a combined 17 return touchdowns in six NFL seasons, including three in 2011.

Former NFL scout Daniel Jeremiah is getting into the Olympic mind-set early this summer, handing out NFL Podium Awards for the top three players at each position group. Keep in mind, this list is based on where these players are ranked heading into the 2012 season. Today, he takes on special teams weapons.

NFL Podium Awards

Daniel Jeremiah gets into the Olympic mindset and recognizes the top three players at each position.

Quarterback: Rodgers edges Brady, Brees
Running back: McCoy atop hierarchy
Wide receiver: Megatron snags top spot
Tight end: Gronkowski grabs gold
Offensive line: Evans headlines o-line
Defensive line: Smith atop interior DL
Pass rushers: Ware sets standard on the edge
Linebacker: 49ers duo rules position
Defensive back: Revis reigns supreme
Special teams: Hester no-brainer for gold

The NFL is loaded with talented special teams weapons. Cleveland Browns returner Josh Cribbs, San Francisco 49ers kicker David Akers and Oakland Raiders punter Shane Lechler all own NFL records, yet none of them earned a spot on the podium.

Gold: Devin Hester, PR/KR, Chicago Bears

This pick is a no-brainer. Hester is the best returner in NFL history. He holds the record for most combined return touchdowns (17) and shows no signs of slowing down. Last season, he led the league in punt-return average (16.2), returned two punts for touchdowns and also added a kickoff return score. He has had some fumbling problems throughout his career, but the good far outweighs the bad in his overall performance and impact on the game.

Silver: Patrick Peterson, PR, Arizona Cardinals

Peterson is one of the most electrifying players to enter the NFL in the last few years. He has endless upside as a big, athletic cornerback, but he's already performing at an elite level in the return game. In his rookie season of 2011, he tied an NFL record by returning four punts for touchdowns. He finished second in the league with a 15.9-yard average on punt returns. Peterson possesses outstanding lateral quickness, explosiveness and elusiveness. Don't believe me? Check out his game-winning, 99-yard punt return against the Rams in Week 9.

Bronze: Andy Lee, P, San Francisco 49ers

Lee is coming off one of the best punting seasons in NFL history. The three-time All-Pro set a single-season record for net average (44.0), while his gross average (50.9) was good for third in league history. He constantly changes field position for the 49ers and keeps their vaunted defense from having to defend a short field. Lechler is also an excellent candidate in this category, but the consensus around the league is that Lee is currently a small step ahead.

Others considered: Josh Cribbs, PR/KR, Cleveland Browns; David Akers, K, San Francisco 49ers; Shane Lechler, P, Oakland Raiders; Sebastian Janikowski, K, Oakland Raiders; Joe McKnight, KR, New York Jets.

Follow Daniel Jeremiah on Twitter @MoveTheSticks.



The previous element was an advertisement.

NFL Shop