Week 3 Monday Night Football fantasy preview

What a week it's been for fantasy football fans. While we've already seen some amazing fantasy outbursts in Week 3 (A.J. Green, Devonta Freeman, Joseph Randle, Julio Jones), we still have one more game to go before all is said and done. It looks as if plenty of fantasy matchups will be coming down to the wire so we've broken down the Monday Night Football game below with a player-by-player preview. The Kansas City Cheifs take on the Green Bay Packers to close out the Week 3 fantasy action. So, who do you have starting? Take a look, and get ready for some football.

Kansas City Chiefs:

**[Alex Smith](http://www.nfl.com/player/alexsmith/2506340/profile), QB** 

Which Alex Smith will we see on Monday night? The one who completed almost 67 percent of his passes and threw three touchdowns in Week 1? Or the one who only managed 191 yards with two interceptions in Week 2? The best bet is probably somewhere in between, as the Packers defense has improved and always plays better at home, but is not as stout as the Broncos' stop unit. Smith is a mid-tier QB2 in Week 3.

**[Jamaal Charles](/player/jamaalcharles/925/profile), RB** 

Despite losing two fumbles, Charles still finished as the RB5 in Week 2. The Packers found ways to shut down Marshawn Lynch last week, but were gashed repeatedly by the faster, shiftier Matt Forte in Week 1. Charles could be in for a big night and is a no-brainer RB1.

**[Jeremy Maclin](/player/jeremymaclin/80429/profile), WR** 

21 games. 1,306 minutes and two seconds of regular season football. However you want to slice it, every one knows it's been ages since a Chiefs wideout caught a touchdown. The Packers had issues with Maclin last year (nine catches, 93 yards, one touchdown), so perhaps this is the week that this ridiculous statistic can finally go away. Maclin's a WR3, with WR2 upside for this week.

**[Travis Kelce](/player/traviskelce/2540258/profile), TE** 

When the Chiefs throw the football to Kelce, good things tend to happen. Hopefully they've realized that after barely targeting him in Week 2. Kelce is currently second in the league in receiving yards at his position, trailing only the great Rob Gronkowski. Look for Kelce to get back on track against the Pack.

Green Bay Packers:

**[Aaron Rodgers](/player/aaronrodgers/2506363/profile), QB** 

Rodgers is neraly unstoppable at Lambeau Field. He's thrown 38 touchdowns since his last interception at home (Week 13, 2012), and in fact, he's one of only two QBs so far this season to start both games and not commit a single turnover (the other is Andy Dalton). Rodgers could feast against the Chiefs secondary, even if Davante Adams (ankle) misses the game.

**[James Starks](/player/jamesstarks/497206/profile), RB** 

Eddie Lacy owners likely dodged a bullet when it was determined that his ankle injury was minor, but it appears that the big fella is a longshot to play on Monday Night Football, or at least see significant snaps (he did individual drills on Friday). That would lock Starks in as an RB2 against the Chiefs. They've been stingy against the run thus far, but the Packers offense is a different beast. Starks will see plenty of work both on the ground and through the air (he had 24 touches last week) and has a high-ceiling for Week 2.

**[Randall Cobb](/player/randallcobb/2495448/profile), WR** 

With each passing week, Cobb looks closer and closer to full health. Despite the fact that he's been nursing an injured shoulder for the last two weeks, he still leads the team in yards (154) and receptions (13). He's a WR1 this week, and could be in line for a similar game to what Emmanuel Sanders did against the Chiefs last week (8/87/2).

**[James Jones](/player/jamesjones/2507183/profile), WR** 

Those worried about Jones being a touchdown-dependent flash in the pan should cool their jets. He and Rodgers appear as if they never missed a day apart in practice, and Rodgers clearly trusts Jones more than some of his younger targets. With Davante Adams potentially on the sideline or at least limited with an ankle injury, Jones could see an uptick in targets to go along with his scoring potential. He's a fringe WR2 this week.

**[Davante Adams](/player/davanteadams/2543495/profile), WR** 

Even if Adams starts, he'll put fantasy fans in a tough spot. He returned last week after suffering the aforementioned ankle injury, but lacked some of the suddeness and explosiveness that helped him get open. However, a week of recovery (and very little practice) could be enough to help him heal. We'd feel better about other, not injured options, but Adams is on the WR3 radar.

**[Richard Rodgers](/player/richardrodgers/2550313/profile), TE** 

Rodgers didn't receive a ton of targets in Week 2, but the ones he did see counted. He had a touchdown and two-point conversion, and also failed to haul in a different red-zone look that could have given him two touchdowns (it was great coverage, though). This is a perfect example of what fantasy owners can expect from Rodgers. Spotty, touchdown-dependent production. He's a better option as a punt TE in DFS, but those in deeper leagues could do worse than rolling out the young Cal product.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.
Gamepass_vert_web_r

See all the Action

Replay every game all season.