Voting begins to select next NFLPA Executive director

WAILEA, Hawaii -- Player representatives from each of the 32 NFL teams began voting on a successor to the late Gene Upshaw as executive director of the NFL Players Association.

The four finalists to lead the union into a critical new era include two former NFLPA presidents, Troy Vincent and Trace Armstrong, plus attorneys David Cornwell and DeMaurice Smith.

A majority vote Sunday would decide who gets the job and conclude a long, divisive and unpredictable seven-month search process. The players heard from the four candidates Saturday and started the closed-door voting process 2:45 p.m. local time Sunday.

Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

See all the Action

Replay every game all season.