Vick, Newton to be honored by Maxwell Football Club

The Maxwell Football Club is set to honor the very best of the NFL, college football and high school football at the 74th Maxwell Club National Awards Gala which will be held at the Harrah's Atlantic City Resort.

This year's recipients and expected guests boast some of the biggest names in football.

There is plenty of brotherly love for Philadelphia Eagles head coach Andy Reid, who is the winner of the 23rd Annual Earle "Greasy" Neale Award as the National Football League's most outstanding coach. Also feeling the love will be Eagles quarterback Michael Vick, the winner of the 52nd Annual Bert Bell Award as the most outstanding Professional Player of the Year.

Quarterbacks have dominated the college Maxwell Award in recent years as Tim Tebow and Colt Mccoy have taken the dais at the Harrah's to accept their awards the past two years. This year is no different as Auburn's Cam Newton follows a season culminated with a BCS National Championship with the Maxwell Award as the college player of the year.

On the other side of the ball, the Chuck Bednarik winner as the college defensive player of the year is LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson. Last year, Ndamukong Suh made his presence felt by winning the same award and then was named the AP Defensive Rookie of the Year for his play for the Detroit Lions.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.