Top 10 quarterback controversies in NFL history

   It may seem silly now, but replacing the No. 1-overall draft pick/face of the franchise with a little-known backup was once a big deal in New England. 
   Teetering on the brink of a dynasty, the 
  [Steelers](/teams/pittsburghsteelers/profile?team=PIT) went into their first 
  [Super Bowl](http://www.nfl.com/superbowl/47) season and chose 
  [Joe Gilliam](http://www.nfl.com/players/joegilliam/profile?id=GIL561200) over 
  [Terry Bradshaw](http://www.nfl.com/players/terrybradshaw/profile?id=BRA301078). 
   Looking to light a fire in No. 1 pick 
  [Troy Aikman](http://www.nfl.com/players/troyaikman/profile?id=AIK553722), 
  [Cowboys](/teams/dallascowboys/profile?team=DAL) coach Jimmy Johnson drafted a second QB -- 
  [Steve Walsh](http://www.nfl.com/players/stevewalsh/profile?id=WAL606936) -- in the same offseason. 
   After being shamed by 
  [Jay Schroeder](http://www.nfl.com/players/jayschroeder/profile?id=SCH519984) in the NFC title game, 
  [Doug Williams](http://www.nfl.com/players/dougwilliams/profile?id=WIL247171) got the last laugh by taking the 
  [Redskins](/teams/washingtonredskins/profile?team=WAS) to 
  [ a Super Bowl win](http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-super-bowl/09000d5d80151445/Super-Bowl-Memories-Super-Bowl-XXII) a year later. 
   After signing 
  [Rob Johnson](http://www.nfl.com/players/robjohnson/profile?id=JOH625847) to a hefty contract, the 
  [Bills](/teams/buffalobills/profile?team=BUF) got fan favorite 
  [Doug Flutie](http://www.nfl.com/players/dougflutie/profile?id=FLU553722) for much less. What followed is still a point of contention in Buffalo. 
   Having two 
  [Super Bowl](http://www.nfl.com/superbowl/47)-winning quarterbacks on the same roster competing for one job put the 
  [Giants](/teams/newyorkgiants/profile?team=NYG) in a precarious spot. 
   With 
  [Drew Brees](/player/drewbrees/2504775/profile) already on the roster, the 
  [Chargers](/teams/sandiegochargers/profile?team=SD) made a draft-day move for 
  [Philip Rivers](/player/philiprivers/2506121/profile). Immediately, there was controversy. 
   The Los Angeles 
  [Rams](/teams/st.louisrams/profile?team=STL) of the 1950s were on the cutting edge of offensive innovation, thanks to the play of 
  [Norm Van Brocklin](http://www.nfl.com/players/normvanbrocklin/profile?id=VAN269376) and 
  [Bob Waterfield](http://www.nfl.com/players/bobwaterfield/profile?id=WAT021857). 

Tom Landry's decision to go with Roger Staubach over Craig Morton helped set the course for the Cowboys to become "America's Team."

   Like Van Brocklin and Waterfield before them, the 
  [49ers](/teams/sanfrancisco49ers/profile?team=SF) had two future 
  [Hall of Fame](http://www.profootballhof.com/)rs at QB. Unlike those '50s 
  [Rams](/teams/st.louisrams/profile?team=STL), the 
  [49ers](/teams/sanfrancisco49ers/profile?team=SF)' QBs couldn't coexist. 

NFL's Top 10 is a fast-paced weekly series that provides an irreverent look at some of the most intriguing subjects in the NFL. To watch NFL's Top on NFL Network, check out the latest listings. Still getting shutout of the NFL Network? See what you can do.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.
Gamepass_vert_web_r

See all the Action

Replay every game all season.