Skip to main content

Tomlinson among first-year eligibles for Hall of Fame

Less than two months after Brett Favre headlined the 54th Pro Football Hall of Fame class, the nominees for the 55th class have been revealed.

Former San Diego Chargers running back LaDainian Tomlinson leads the list of first-year eligibles for the Hall of Fame's 2017 class.

The 2006 NFL Most Valuable Player, Tomlinson was a five-time Pro Bowl selection and six-time All Pro across 11 seasons with the Chargers and New York Jets. He ranks fifth in career rushing yards (13,684), seventh in all-purpose yards (18,456) and third in touchdowns (162).

Every player ranked ahead of Tomlinson on the career rushing and touchdown lists already boasts a bust in Canton.

In addition to Tomlinson, the list of first-year eligibles includes safety Brian Dawkins, defensive end Jason Taylor, quarterback Donovan McNabb, running back Shaun Alexander and wide receivers Hines Ward and Chad Johnson.

Those players will be joined by 2016 finalists such as Kurt Warner, Terrell Davis, Terrell Owens, John Lynch and Don Coryell.

This year's list of nominees consists of 45 offensive players, 32 defensive players, six special teams players and 11 coaches. Those 94 candidates will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November and 15 finalists in January.

The 15 finalists will be joined by Senior Finalist Kenny Easley and 2017 Contributor Finalists Jerry Jones and Paul Tagliabue when the 48-member Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee meets to vote on the eve of Super Bowl LI.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content