Skip to main content

Titans' Haynesworth, Vanden Bosch, Bironas picked for Pro Bowl

NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- Tennessee Titans defensive tackle Albert Haynesworth, defensive end Kyle Vanden Bosch and kicker Rob Bironas were selected as Pro Bowl starters Tuesday.

The selection is the first for Haynesworth and Bironas. Vanden Bosch will be making his second Pro Bowl appearance in three years.

Despite missing three games -- all losses by the Titans -- with a sore right hamstring, Haynesworth leads all AFC tackles with six sacks.

This season has been a complete transformation for Haynesworth, who was suspended five games last season for stepping on the helmet-less head of Dallas Cowboys center Andre Gurode. Haynesworth was the AFC's leading vote-getter among fans at his position.

"It doesn't matter if it is the sixth year, tenth year or second year, being invited to the Pro Bowl is a great honor and privilege, and I'm just humbled that I have the chance to go," Haynesworth said.

Asked if people focused on his play, Haynesworth said they couldn't not notice.

"The season I wanted to have this year was one to rewrite the history books on me, so that people would remember me as a good football player, not for what happened last year, having the longest suspension," Haynesworth said.

Vanden Bosch leads the Titans with nine sacks this season, and he has forced three fumbles. He said going to his second Pro Bowl proves the first time wasn't a fluke.

"It kind of validates my career," Vanden Bosch said. "Now I've established myself and people around the league know me more and respect me more. I think where I'm at now is the players and coaches who see me on tape every week know what I'm all about. They know how hard I play and that I'm going to show up every day and bring all I've got on every play."

Bironas, who kicked an NFL single-game record eight field goals against the Houston Texans, has made a league-leading 31 field goals. He has missed four field goals this season.

The Titans had not had a player voted as a starter since 2003 -- their last playoff season. Vanden Bosch went in 2005 as a reserve and injury replacement, and Vince Young did the same last year.

Tennessee's three selections mark the most Pro Bowlers for the franchise since 2003, when five Titans earned the honor.

The AFC and NFC squads are made up of the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches, with each group's vote counting one-third toward the 43-man rosters.

The Pro Bowl will be played Feb. 10 at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu.

Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.