Redskins trio to wear No. 21 at Pro Bowl to honor Taylor

ASHBURN, Va. -- Sean Taylor, the first player voted posthumously to the Pro Bowl, will have his jersey number worn at the game by three of his former Washington Redskins teammates.

The NFL announced Wednesday that tight end Chris Cooley, tackle Chris Samuels and long snapper Ethan Albright will all wear No. 21 at the game Feb. 10 in Honolulu.

Taylor died Nov. 27, a day after being shot at his home in Florida. The 24-year-old safety was leading the NFL in interceptions at the time. He was chosen the following month for the NFC team in balloting among coaches, players and fans.

Taylor made his only Pro Bowl appearance last year, when he was voted as an alternate but was later added to the roster when another player withdrew.

Cooley, Samuels and Albright will each wear his own name on the back of the jersey, above the No. 21. The jerseys will be auctioned after the game, with the proceeds benefiting the Sean Taylor Memorial Trust Fund that was established for Taylor's daughter, Jackie.

Cooley usually wears No. 47, Samuels' regular number is 60 and Albright normally wears No. 67.

Taylor is the first player chosen posthumously for an all-star team in a major American team sport since Philadelphia Flyers goaltender Pelle Lindbergh topped the fan voting for the 1986 NHL All-Star game.

The weekend following Taylor's death, every NFL player wore a No. 21 decal on his helmet in tribute. Many players kept the decals on their helmets for the rest of the regular season and during the playoffs.

Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.