Players Association elects tackle Eric Winston as new president

By Bill Bradley, contributing editor

Former player Eric Winston was elected Wednesday as the president of the NFL Players Association, the group announced.

Winston replaces Dominique Foxworth, who served a two-year term in the position. The election took place at the NFLPA board of representatives meeting in Orlando.

The president's position works hand-in-hand with NFLPA executive director DeMaurice Smith, who has been in that role for five years.

Winston, who played college football at Miami, was a third-round draft pick of the Houston Texans in 2006. The offensive tackle has started 112 consecutive games while playing for the Texans, Kansas City Chiefs and Arizona Cardinals.

The NFLPA also announced the elections to its executive committee. Lorenzo Alexander of the Cardinals), free agent Ryan Clark, New York Giants' Zak DeOssie, Cardinals' Jay Feely, Giants' Mark Herzlich, Indianapolis Colts' Adam Vinatieri and St. Louis Rams' Scott Wells were selected by the board or representatives.

They join current Executive Committee members Matt Hasselbeck of the Colts, free agent Brian Waters, and New Orleans Saints' Benjamin Watson, who were re-elected by unanimous affirmation. Also, New Orleans Saints' Drew Brees stepped down from the executive committee.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.