Skip to main content

NFL announces 2009 AFL 'Legacy Games'

The NFL has announced the 16 AFL Legacy Games that will be played during the 2009 NFL season.

This season marks the 50th season for the eight original American Football League teams. As part of the celebration, the eight original AFL teams will wear historic uniforms during Legacy Games.

Remember the AFL

The upcoming season marks the 50th for the original member franchises of the American Football League. Relive its brief yet colorful history with this photo presentation. More ...

Eleven Legacy Games will be match-ups between the eight original AFL teams. The other five Legacy Games include the Dallas Cowboys playing the "Dallas Texans" in Kansas City (Oct. 11, 1 p.m. ET) and the Oakland Raiders visiting the Dallas Cowboys in the Raiders' first Thanksgiving game since 1970 (Nov. 26, 4:15 p.m. ET). In addition, three of the Legacy Games feature the Miami Dolphins who joined the AFL in 1966.

To kick off the slate of Legacy Games, the Bills will take on the Tennessee Titans in the Pro Football Hall of Fame Game in Canton, Ohio on Sunday, Aug. 9. The game will be televised nationally by NBC at 8 p.m. ET.

On Monday night, Sept. 14, ESPN will host a Monday Night Football doubleheader that will be part of the NFL's celebration of the 50th anniversary season of the AFL. The four clubs competing that night began playing in the inaugural 1960 AFL season. The first game (7 p.m. ET) will send the Buffalo Bills to Foxboro to visit the New England Patriots, the decade's winningest team (102-42 since 2000). The MNF nightcap (10:15 p.m. ET) will be an AFC West battle as the Oakland Raiders host the three-time defending division champ San Diego Chargers.

The American Football League, which merged with the NFL in 1970, played its first season in 1960 with eight teams. The original eight AFL teams were the Buffalo Bills, Denver Broncos, Kansas City Chiefs (played as Dallas Texans), New England Patriots (played as the Boston Patriots), New York Jets (played as the Titans of New York), Oakland Raiders, San Diego Chargers and Tennessee Titans (played as the Houston Oilers). The Miami Dolphins became the ninth AFL franchise and played its first game in 1966. The Cincinnati Bengals followed as the tenth AFL team playing its first game during the 1968 season.

The NFL and clubs are planning to celebrate the 50th AFL season with numerous events this year.

NFL Network, and NFL Films will also commemorate the 50th season with unique content and programming highlighting the history of the AFL and the original eight teams.

A "legacy" collection, featuring new retro-themed apparel and products, will be introduced this summer and will be available on and at other retail locations. Among the merchandise offered will be jerseys, hats, t-shirts, sweatshirts, jackets and pennants.

Game-worn jerseys and signed memorabilia will be auctioned at NFL Auctions throughout the season with the monies raised going to the NFL Player Care Foundation.

Below is a list of the historic uniforms to be worn by the eight original AFL teams during Legacy Games this season:

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.