Skip to main content

Johnny Manziel leads Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award nominees


The changing of the guard in Texas is reflected in the 16 semifinalists up for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award announced Tuesday, as six players from Baylor and Texas A&M are included, but only one from the Longhorns.

Aggies quarterback Johnny Manziel and Bears quarterback Bryce Petty headline the nominees for the award, which is presented to the top player on offense in college football that was born in Texas, played Texas high school football, or attends a university or junior college in Texas.

Texas A&M wide receiver Mike Evans, Baylor wide receivers Antwan Goodley and Tevin Reese and running back Lache Seastrunk also made the cut, while running back Johnathan Gray is the only player from Texas included.

Baylor is undefeated and ranked No. 4 in the BCS. Texas A&M is 8-2 and ranked No. 14. Texas is 7-3 and unranked.

The other players recognized include Texas Tech tight end Jace Amaro, Louisiana-Monroe quarterback Kolton Browning, East Carolina quarterback Shane Carden, Minnesota running back David Cobb, Missouri quarterback James Franklin, SMU quarterback Garrett Gilbert, Arizona State running back Marion Grice, SMU wide receiver Jeremy Johnson, and West Virginia running back Charles Sims.

Finalists will be announced Dec. 9, and the award will be presented Jan. 10 in Tyler, Texas, the hometown of Campbell, a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame and Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Follow Dan Greenspan on Twitter @DanGreenspan.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.