Gibbs' greatest moments

Joe Gibbs, the most successful coach in Redskins history, resigned Tuesday as coach and team president. Gibbs coached the Redskins from 1981-1992 and again from 2004-2007. During his first tour in Washington, he led the Redskins to four Super Bowls (XVI, XVII, XXII, and XXVI).

Look back at some of the most memorable moments in Gibbs' Hall-of-Fame career:

   A look back at the 
  [Joe Gibbs](/player/joegibbs/2508072/profile)' first tenure as head coach of the 
  [Washington Redskins](/teams/washingtonredskins/profile?team=WAS), which included three 
  [Super Bowl](http://www.nfl.com/superbowl/47) triumphs. 
   NFL Films President Steve Sabol takes a look at the singular quality in all of 
  [Joe Gibbs](/player/joegibbs/2508072/profile)' championship teams. 

Joe Gibbs talks about owner Jack Kent Cooke's reaction to the team's 1-3 preseason record in 1991, right before the Redskins embarked on a Super Bowl run.

   The 1991 
  [Redskins](/teams/washingtonredskins/profile?team=WAS) reflect on a "somewhat superstitious" 
  [Joe Gibbs](/player/joegibbs/2508072/profile), and his pre- 
  [Super Bowl](http://www.nfl.com/superbowl/47) routines. 
   A look back at 
  [Super Bowl](http://www.nfl.com/superbowl/47) XXVI, which pitted the 
  [Washington Redskins](/teams/washingtonredskins/profile?team=WAS) against the 
  [Buffalo Bills](/teams/buffalobills/profile?team=BUF). 
   A look back at 
  [Super Bowl](http://www.nfl.com/superbowl/47) XXII, which pitted the 
  [Washington Redskins](/teams/washingtonredskins/profile?team=WAS) against the 
  [Denver Broncos](/teams/denverbroncos/profile?team=DEN). 
   A look back at 
  [Super Bowl](http://www.nfl.com/superbowl/47) XVII, which pitted the 
  [Washington Redskins](/teams/washingtonredskins/profile?team=WAS) against the 
  [Miami Dolphins](/teams/miamidolphins/profile?team=MIA). 
   Doc Walker, Russ Grimm and Joe Theismann remember the expensive "Hogs Night Out." 
   A look back at Joe Theismann's career and his rise to greatness with the 
  [Redskins](/teams/washingtonredskins/profile?team=WAS). 
This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.
Gamepass_vert_web_r

See all the Action

Replay every game all season.