Fitzgerald, Eli both named Walter Payton Man of Year

Giants quarterback Eli Manning and Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald were named co-winners of the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award Saturday night at 'NFL Honors.'

Greg Olsen was the third finalist for the honor. In 2006, Drew Brees and LaDainian Tomlinson were also named co-winners for the prestigious award.

Fitzgerald has participated in several philanthropic initiatives, including teaming up with the American Cancer Society as a spokesman for the Crucial Catch Campaign during Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

The Cardinals star also paired with Lenovo to donate tablet computer labs to schools in Minneapolis and Phoenix, as well as joining forces with Riddell to bring the most advanced helmets to 1,000 kids playing youth football in Minneapolis.

Manning has served as the Chair of the New York March for Babies for the past seven years, and his efforts have helped raise over $25 million over that span.

The Giants signal caller also helps out with other initiatives, including the American Red Cross and his fulfillment of numerous Make-A-Wish and Wounded Warrior experiences.

It's great to see two iconic players during their era also extend their greatness to outside of the gridiron.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content