Skip to main content

Dolphins GM Ireland signs multiyear contract extension

Miami Dolphins general manager Jeff Ireland has signed a multiyear contract extension, the team announced Saturday.

Ireland was brought in from the Dallas Cowboys after the Dolphins' 1-15 season in 2007 and has overseen an overhaul of the team's roster.

Dolphins owner Steve Ross said the decision to extend the contract was an easy one. He praised Ireland's ability to acquire talent.

For more on the Miami Dolphins, check out the latest from our bloggers.

"The young talent that Jeff has assembled during his three years with the Dolphins has made a profound impact on our franchise's recovery from the 1-15 season of 2007," Ross said in a statement released by the team. "Jeff has my full support moving forward as we pursue our goals to build the best and brightest front office in the National Football League and ultimately to win a Super Bowl championship for all of South Florida and Dolphin fans around the world."

Miami is 25-24 with an AFC East title since Ireland's arrival but finished 7-9 in 2010 and failed to make the playoffs for the eighth time in the last nine seasons.

Ireland will continue to work alongside Dolphins coach Tony Sparano, whose contract was extended through 2013 earlier this month following the team's failed pursuit of Jim Harbaugh. As part of his deal, Sparano was given a stronger voice in player personnel decisions, but Ireland will maintain final say.

"I appreciate the support of the entire Dolphin organization, from Steve Ross all the way down, and I'm going to continue to work as hard as I can with Steve, Tony Sparano, and the rest of the team to bring the Dolphins back to their long-time position as one of the elite teams in the NFL," Ireland said in a statement. "We have a young and talented nucleus to build on, and as we continue to add quality players through all the means available to us, we will give our fans the type of team they deserve."

Ireland's three drafts have netted 10 new starters, including defensive end Phillip Merling, quarterback Chad Henne, defensive end Kendall Langford and three-time Pro Bowl tackle Jake Long in 2008; cornerbacks Vontae Davis and Sean Smith, wide receiver Brian Hartline and safety Chris Clemons in 2009; and linebacker Koa Misi and guard John Jerry in 2010.

Tight end Anthony Fasano, wide receiver Brandon Marshall, linebacker Karlos Dansby and guard Richie Incognito were added through unrestricted free agency, along with street free agents such as wide receiver Davone Bess, linebacker Cameron Wake and kicker Dan Carpenter.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.